Chronicles of Ancient Darkness

I am working on visualising book characters and character design – drawing more from imagination than taking my life around me as a starting point (not going to stop doing that though).

It is early days.

Here is an attempt at drawing three characters from a series of books by Michelle Paver I am reading to my daughter at the moment. We have finished Wolf Brother and are nearing the end of Spirit Walker. I *love* it so so much so far and it fills me with so much excitement that she digs them so much too. It is challenging for her, and at times very dark, but it is such a rich, complex and haunting story… It feels like we read it by campfire, huddled up in our furs, with shadows dancing, lurking, behind us…

20140213-115956.jpg

This is very much a first try… I plan to work on this topic much more.

Share your thoughts

